Dallas Chamber Symphony presents “Souvenir de Florence” on Nov. 6

 In News

Dallas Chamber Symphony to feature principal player Kyle Sherman performing one of music’s most difficult trumpet solos in a musical journey through Europe.

DALLAS, TX – October 18, 2018 – The second concert of the Dallas Chamber Symphony’s season, “Souvenir de Florence,” led by Artistic Director and Conductor Richard McKay, will send listeners on a musical journey through Europe. The journey begins with Bartók’s Romanian Folk Dances, an early masterpiece comprised of six, short movements. Next, J.S. Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 2, will feature a technically-challenging trumpet solo performed by Kyle Sherman and additional solos by Margaret Fischer (flute), Kazuhiro Takagi (violin), and Gina Ford (oboe). Rounding out the evening, DCS’s virtuosic strings will perform Tchaikovsky’s romantic Souvenir de Florence.

Ron Corning of WFAA DayBreak will make a special guest appearance and provide opening remarks.

“We’re thrilled to be presenting Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 2, a gem of the baroque repertoire, which features a fearsome trumpet solo that audiences will marvel at hearing performed live by our principal trumpet, Kyle Sherman,” says McKay.

Buy Tickets: https://dcsymphony.org/concert-tickets/season-schedule/souvenir-de-florence/

To join the conversation about this announcement:
Facebook: @DallasChamberSymphony
Twitter: @ChamberSymphony
Instagram: @DCSymphony

Start typing and press Enter to search